Beer Review: Bell’s Sparkling Ale 8.2% ABV

Originally handwritten on December 24, 2009

Coming back to one of my favorite breweries, Bell’s released a Sparkling Ale (no link at the Bells website, unfortunately) this fall. The staff at the Manassas Total Wine gave it a good recommendation.

The ale poured a very clear light golden-orange color. It was effervescent with a bit of a hominy smell. It had a slightly bitter aftertaste, so likely too much hops for my liking. I ended up drinking the whole six pack over a period of a few weeks and I’m not sure how I feel about it. It is a drinkable beer but the hominy smell may be putting me off too much to truly enjoy it.

Beer Advocate reviewers give this a B+ (very good) rating. I am going to give it a B- or 3.5 mugs.

Leave a Reply

