Beer Review: Rogue Chocolate Stout 6.0% ABV

Originally handwritten January 2, 2010

Rogue is another of my favorite breweries. This time I gave their Chocolate Stout a try.

This beer pours thick and dark with a brown head that retains some bubbles and lacing. Something that is fun about developing a stout palate is whenever I pour one, it’s always very pretty to watch.

This is a strong tasting beer. I don’t detect any chocolate (boo), but neither do I taste coffee, which is always a danger with stouts. While the beer tastes good, it does have a strong aftertaste that will take some getting used to.

Beer Advocate reviewers give this an A (outstanding), while the brothers give it an A+ (world class). For now, I’m giving it a B+ or 4 mugs. I will likely try this beer again as my palate develops.

3 Responses to “Beer Review: Rogue Chocolate Stout 6.0% ABV”

  1. sebbie Says:

    thanks for the review, check my website for news, notes, pairings, trivia and other musings about this beer, since I am on the label. I even have a special 2010 Valentine’s Day Beer Cocktail, which also has Rogue Spirits Hazelnut Rum and sherry blended with the Rogue Chocolate Stout! I call it the Rogue Diplomat Gone Nuts (its based on the Stout Diplomat, with a rogue twist!)
    cheers, ~ sebbie / http://www.RogueChocolateStout.com

  2. sebbie Says:

    thanks for the review, check out my website for more news, pairings notes, recipes and musings about the beer which has me on the label ~ http://www.RogueChocolateStout.com

    my blog has a fun beer cocktail which combines the Chocolate Stout with Rogue Spirits Hazelnut Rum (and sherry, the good stuff…) a perfect apperatif for the favorite Rogue in your life on Valentine’s Day, or any day! cheers ~

  3. Leesa Says:

    What a neat website. :) Thanks for letting me know about it.

    The one with kriek lambic sounds delicious too. I tried a mix of raspberry lambic and Hoegardden, which was delicious. I look forward to mixing up flavors as I go.


Leave a Reply

